Topics Topics Edit Profile Profile Help/Instructions Help Member List Member List Edit Profile Register  
Search Last 1|3|7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

What's "real"?

Sepulchritude Forum » The Absinthe Forum Archive thru June 2002 » Archive Thru May 2002 » What's "real"? « Previous Next »

Robertsmith
Posted on Sunday, June 2, 2002 - 1:51 pm:   Edit PostPrint Post

I think it's popped it's head out, but they've still got to cut the cord.
This would not fall under the category of real absinthe :http://www.lableue.biz/de/rezepte.html
but fun nonetheless.
Dr_Ordinaire
Posted on Sunday, June 2, 2002 - 1:37 pm:   Edit PostPrint Post

Does anybody know when Ian and Phil's baby will be born?
Robertsmith
Posted on Saturday, June 1, 2002 - 4:52 pm:   Edit PostPrint Post

Destiny,
While I am by no means an expert, I was lucky to have a few ounces of vintage Edouard, and to be quite honest, I have to say that Betty's LaBleu compared most favorably to that, although it was still quite a ways off, as it was much lighter and the taste didn't linger nearly as long as the Edouard. Although my judgment is skewed because the drink was from 1906, so who knows what's historically accurate if age has drastically altered the flavour? The only other absinthes I've had that have vintage like aspects to them are Francois Guy and Segarra, and just slightly LaFee. Maybe Kubler has just a hint too. But they're all still very light and airy and too anisey compared to the weighty green earthiness of Edouard. None of these modern absinthes, including Betty's, taste of wormwood as much as the Edouard did. The taste of wormwood is a very recognizable bitterness that engulfs your entire tounge, but it doesn't make you cringe, it's just kind of like an unusual vegetable flavour, and all the modern absinthes seem to have much lighter herbal ingredients added to make their drinks sweeter (or maybe just a lot less wormwood). I don't find wormwood bitterness unpleasant though, just simply