Topics Topics Edit Profile Profile Help/Instructions Help Member List Member List Edit Profile Register  
Search Last 1|3|7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Study about modern comercial Absinthe

Sepulchritude Forum » The Absinthe Forum » Strictly Absinthe & Collectibles » Study about modern comercial Absinthe « Previous Next »

AbsintheMinded (Absintheminded)
Mousquetaire
Username: Absintheminded

Post Number: 6
Posted on Thursday, August 14, 2003 - 11:35 am:   Edit PostPrint Post

Meat, I agree completely with the notion that different types of alcoholic drinks produce different affects. In my college years I was pretty big on pure grain alcohol’s, just because it's a lot easier to sneak a small portion of 190 proof grain alcohol then a six pack of beer, into a concert! I have had a lot of experience with pure grain alcohol.

Anyway, to make a short story way to long, pure grain alcohol gives a very clean buzz compared to alcohols that contain sugar or other impurities. Which is part of the reason absinthe (the 68%+ versions) gives a pretty clean buzz vs. others. Add to that a few herbs such as wormwood, anise (sometimes nutmeg), etc and you have quite a bit going on in one drink.

I think that all of those things together make absinthe what it is, and the buzz it provides. It is certainly a unique drink that teases the many senses.
TheFoy (Thefoy)
Mousquetaire
Username: Thefoy

Post Number: 8
Posted on Thursday, August 14, 2003 - 1:38 am:   Edit PostPrint Post

For what it's worth, I'm pretty sure that there are three y's in Kashyyyk. Remember it from the old X-Wing/Tie Fighter copy protection days. Yeah, I'm a dork. I'm comfortable with that.
Meat (Meat_nipples)
Paysan
Username: Meat_nipples

Post Number: 80
Posted on Wednesday, August 13, 2003 - 11:11 pm:   Edit PostPrint Post