Topics Topics Edit Profile Profile Help/Instructions Help Member List Member List Edit Profile Register  
Search Last 1|3|7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Straight Razor

Sepulchritude Forum » The Absinthe Forum » Strictly Absinthe & Collectibles » Straight Razor « Previous Next »

Green Meanie (Greenmeanie)
le Duc
Username: Greenmeanie

Post Number: 324
Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2003 - 8:05 pm:   Edit PostPrint Post

Thanks for the links Jack.

There are some SWEET razors out there at some HEFTY prices. Get a load of those Frenchie ones!! Damascus even!

I guess these things must be gaining in popularity for the prices (and workmanship) to be so high.

Thanks again.
Ober-Gruppen Fuhrer
Jack Collins (_blackjack_)
Absinthe Mafia
Username: _blackjack_

Post Number: 1188

Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2003 - 3:45 pm:   Edit PostPrint Post

I'm no expert, but here are a few sites that seem to have a nice selection:

http://www.shavingsupplies.com/
http://premiumknives.com/

You can also check your local cutlery store (I know the Chesapeake Knife and Tool chain out here sells them) and your local beauty/barber supply. Straight razors are actually trendy as a hair-cutting tool. Also, tobacconists sometimes carry them.
Green Meanie (Greenmeanie)
le Duc
Username: Greenmeanie

Post Number: 323
Posted on Monday, August 18, 2003 - 8:13 pm:   Edit PostPrint Post

Blackjack,

Where would I go about getting a good straight razor and strop? I am under the impression that good stropping leather is a bear to find and kinda $$.
Ober-Gruppen Fuhrer
Absinthe Mafia

Post Number: 1182

Posted on Monday, August 18, 2003 - 3:44 pm:   Edit PostPrint Post

It's a combination of a broad foundation of knowlege, excellent research skills, and the capacity to rapidly assimilate new information. Much of the stuff about steel I've picked up from my sword collecting.