Just how bad is absinthe for you and other questions...

Sepulchritude Forum: The Absinthe Forum Archives Thru July 2001: Just how bad is absinthe for you and other questions...
By Martin on Tuesday, May 01, 2001 - 05:46 pm: Edit

I've been drinking absithe fairly regularly since September 1999. I haven't noticed any ill effects whatsoever. Like others have already mentioned, alcohol is by far the most dangerous ingredient. In some ways absinthe even seems slightly less dangerous to me, I feel like I have better control of my senses while drunk on absinthe. It seems like there's less chance of me attempting to do anything foolhardy or life-threatening... like say, trying to drive anywhere.

-Martin

By Tlautrec on Tuesday, May 01, 2001 - 01:51 pm: Edit

Hobgoblin is right. America's drug laws that were adopted in the early 20th century were designed to criminalize the use of dangerous drugs which tended to be more popular within particular racial minority groups than within the Anglo majority: marijuana - Hispanics; opium - Chinese; cocaine - African-Americans. In 1919, by adopting Prohibition, the puritan blue noses also tried to make it illegal to manufacture or purchase the dangerous drug favored by the Anglo majority; however, as we all know, that turned out to be such a total fiasco that it was repealed right after FDR took office. Unfortunately, the continuing illegality of those other drugs is as corrosive on society as the prohibition of liquor was: it spawns extensive mafias and significant resulting political corruption; it engenders widespread disregard of and disrespect for the law; and it misappropriates public funds from legitimate public health needs to paramilitary inderdiction and "law enforcement" efforts that undermine our basic freedoms and civil rights.

End of rant.

By Lordhobgoblin on Tuesday, May 01, 2001 - 10:14 am: Edit

Scooby,