London Lunch

Sepulchritude Forum: The Absinthe Forum Archives Thru July 2001: London Lunch
By Lordhobgoblin on Tuesday, June 05, 2001 - 10:34 am: Edit

Bigmike,

I'm sure there will be other times. Worth a trip down (or up) the M1.

Hobgoblin

By Bigmike on Monday, June 04, 2001 - 05:58 pm: Edit

Just looked at that picture... I have to say that I thought Ted would be much older. Sorry I couldn't make it to the London Lunch, I wanted to but it fell right in the middle of my exams. Also being a poor student I don't have the money to go galavanting about across the country, I'm too busy saving up to buy more absinthe.

I'd agree with Heiko, that most UK absinthe drinkers only use it to a) look trendy, and b) get smashed out of their heads on. If it wasn't for this site, however, I might well have been one of them. Cheers Kallisti :)

BM

By Lordhobgoblin on Saturday, June 02, 2001 - 08:39 am: Edit

"The higth presence of Americans here could have something do with the fact that the population in the US is larger than in the UK..."

Another cultural factor is the fact that PC ownership in the USA seems to be the norm and using the internet in the USA is very commonplace. In the UK many people I know don't own a computer, nor have any desire to own one, and those that do, if they bother to go online, tend only to use e-mail to very ocassionaly pass messages to friends or ocassionally use a search engine to look something up.

Despite being invented by a Briton (sorry to disappoint Al Gore) the web is a very American place.

Hobgoblin
(In case you're wondering, the beautiful green louche in our glasses was Absinthe Edouard and it tasted even better than it looks)

By Tomjoad on Friday, June 01, 2001 - 01:51 pm: Edit

Well we've narrowed down the price somewhere between a six pack and $1 million. A few minor details and it's a done deal.