From Julian Segarra

Sepulchritude Forum: The Absinthe Forum Archives Thru July 2001: Old Topics Archived Thru Sep 2000:From Julian Segarra
By Absinthedrinker on Wednesday, September 20, 2000 - 02:45 am: Edit

I had a really nice Spanish brandy the last time I was over there, well rounded and very smooth. Unfortunately I can't remember the name, which is a pity because it came to the same price as the meal...

Absinthedrinker

By Don Walsh on Tuesday, September 19, 2000 - 11:15 am: Edit

I have been drinking Spanish brandies on and off for 30 years. I have never heard of Segarra brandy. In general, the Spanish brandies do not compare well to cognac or armignac. They are harsh and abrasive. They compare well to Metaxa. Or maybe Metaxa compares well to them. It has been quite a few years sicne I went that far down market, actually.

The definitive Spanish brandy is Carlos Primero (Charles the First) and related product from Pedro Domecq. Doubtless there are zillions of other bodegas, but, that's the one that counts.

Any alcohol used in an succesful absinthe steep will be in the 165 or higher proof range. Spanish brandies are half of that. So much for the proposition that Segarra uses 'brandy' for steeping herbs. It would not work.

He may well use wine spirits.

Not the same thing.

By Tabreaux on Tuesday, September 19, 2000 - 11:08 am: Edit

I don't think you understand what we're saying. For brandy making, this isn't cutting corners. What is desirable for making brandy doesn't apply to absinthe making. Brandy making and absinthe making are entirely different.

By FrenchQuarter on Tuesday, September 19, 2000 - 10:15 am: Edit

I doubt they would cut corners. Segarra brandy is nationally respected in Spain and runs as much as $1,500 American for a bottle.

By Tabreaux on Tuesday, September 19, 2000 - 09:46 am: Edit

Well, you could make a one pass distillation of a grape fermentation and call it 'brandy', and I suspect something akin to this is what is used.