Home-made Absinthe - Does it work?

Sepulchritude Forum: The Absinthe Forum Archives Thru July 2001: Old Topics Archived Thru Sep 2000:Home-made Absinthe - Does it work?
By peter marc on Tuesday, September 26, 2000 - 01:41 am: Edit

jkk-
no offense taken...i need all the correction
i can get :)

peter marc

By JKK on Monday, September 25, 2000 - 03:28 pm: Edit

Peter,
Damn! I posted a response on Friday and now I see it didn't go through. Anyway, there was no criticism intended. My French is very rusty as I haven't been to the country, except for an afternoon stopover, since 1986, haven't taken a French course since 1989--the year I graduated from UCLA--and have been concentrating on Russian since then. I'm not trying to knock anybody.

By peter marc on Saturday, September 23, 2000 - 01:33 am: Edit

jkk
merde...3 months at the alliance française...6
years with my french wife...1 year living in france, and i still spell like a spanish cow...
damn those genders...

By JKK on Friday, September 22, 2000 - 02:35 pm: Edit

The correct form is "la vraie absinthe."

By Absinthedrinker on Wednesday, September 20, 2000 - 02:14 am: Edit

Lordhobgoblin

I would advise you to buy a bottle each of the absinthes available from Spirits Corner and have a tasting. You will get the whole range delivered to your door for around the same price as two bottles of Mari Mayans bought locally (am I right in thinking you are based in the UK?). Each of the Spanish brands offers a slightly different experience and it is fun to taste in parallel. I have also discovered that adding sugar can change the experience. None of these absinthes really need it but it can be nice if you are in the mood and the ritual does add to the enjoyment. Try a glass of Deva with sugar and then without and see how bitter it then seems.

Absinthedrinker

By peter marc on Tuesday, September 19, 2000 - 03:39 pm: Edit

i have only tasted lasala, which i had at a bar
in barcelona. bought two bottles to bring north