Absinthe in Amsterdam?

Sepulchritude Forum: The Absinthe Forum Archives Thru July 2001: Topics Archived Thru Feb 2001:Absinthe in Amsterdam?
By Tabreaux on Wednesday, February 21, 2001 - 12:11 pm: Edit

Like the term "wormwood", use of the term "hemp" is potentially misleading, not always referring to what you might expect. Marijuana is a type of hemp. Another type of hemp (Kenaf) is cultivated in the U.S. for its fiber content. This plant is a very close relative of marijuana (it is Cannabis something or another), but is free of THC. Obviously, this hemp plant is no more marijuana than southernwood or A. vulgaris is absinthium.

By Pataphysician on Wednesday, February 21, 2001 - 10:17 am: Edit

'I have heard them referred to as "headache weed". I have no personal experience with them.'

I have personal experience, and yes, "headache weed" describes it perfectly. I think nearly every Midwest teenager has tried it -- once. There may be a very small amount of THC, but matter how much you smoke it, bake it, or whatever, you'll never produce a high.

By Artemis on Wednesday, February 21, 2001 - 09:17 am: Edit

"Perhaps all these THC-free Hemp plants growing wild in the USA are male plants."

No. There are both male and female, otherwise there would be no seed (reproduction) and they could not spread. I doubt they are THC-free, my guess is they just don't contain enough to make them useful for smoking. I have heard them referred to as "headache weed". I have no personal experience with them.

"Fly Agaric as a 'magic mushroom', is psilocybin the active ingredient in it?)"

No. The Fly Agaric is Amanita Muscaria. Red cap with white flakes. No psilocybin. Totally different chemicals. Muscarine or musca-something if I remember correctly. Meeska mooska mouse-ka-teer.

By Lordhobgoblin on Wednesday, February 21, 2001 - 08:52 am: Edit