Zelena Muza

Sepulchritude Forum: The Absinthe Forum Archive Thru March 2002: Archive thru January 2002:Zelena Muza
By Heiko on Friday, December 14, 2001 - 12:41 am: Edit

La Fee is really good, but too expensive!

By Sorhed on Thursday, December 13, 2001 - 10:57 am: Edit

Well, I'm not a distributor of Delis as some may think. But in comparison with Spanish Xenta Absenta and Hills it's not too bad. It's very hard to find absinthe in Russia, so I'm actually a newbie :)
I think I should try to order La Fee from UK. I'll have to wait 3 weeks or more for delivery, but who knows, maybe it's REALLY good?

By Heiko on Wednesday, December 12, 2001 - 11:54 pm: Edit

ad Hill's:

it's drinkable. It's rather good for mouthwash (that is really what it tastes like)

Staroplzenecky or Neto Costa in comparison don't even taste like mouthwash, they just taste plain bad, uuuaargh!

By Petermarc on Wednesday, December 12, 2001 - 10:17 am: Edit

i keep a topette of zelena muza around to remind me how bad a product can be and actually be marketed...i took another sip just now to reconfirm...yup...bitter as hell(the only taste), amazing that it could be bottled and sold...as a russian, you will soon have your own brand, made from czech concentrate, reanimated in russia...it is not good, but better than hill's (i guess, still never tried it...i'm missing out)and many czech products...
russian
i just met the guy who makes absinth king of spirits, the stuff with the twigs on the bottom...it is the best czech absinthe i have
tasted, and would be better if he didn't put the twigs (wormwood, anis, etc.)in and leave them...natural color, very slight louche, bitter, but not obnoxious like z.m...dmitry is a nice guy and hopefully we will make a trip to prague this spring to discuss techniques...he is at least trying...in the spirit of disclosure, he is involved with staroplzenecky, t.h.c., and czech spirit stark (wonder how this got past philip stark?)
dmitry...
dmitry