Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Questions from a n00b
TaLi
post Sep 26 2003, 05:30 PM
Post #1

Novitiate

Group: Members
Member No.: 77

Hey all I'm really new to Absinthe, however have been interested in it since I first heard of it when I was 17 and I was into the whole psycadelic thing. I tried steeping a concoction of my own through a recipe I found on the net using vodka and a mix of herbs I bought at the local herbarium. The result a thick brown liquorice reeking swill, that after a friend and I tried to force down a couple shots subsequently found its way into the trash. 2 days later I developed rheumatic fever haha a coincidence I know but never the less I headed the warning not to brew my own again. blink.gif My interest was brought about again on a spring break trip in Canada when I was 21, I was at the liquor store stocking up fo the party we we're gonna have at the condo we had rented, when I saw it. shock.gif I wasted no time and bought a bottle of Hill's. Needless to say me and my friends start tryin to drink it down straight and couldnt manage to get through more than half the bottle. I came back later extremely drunk and polished off the remainder of the bottle (either that or I dumped it down the sink censored2.gif ) I woke up remembering nothing but that I was in the midst of the worst hangover of my life. That was that. I again forgot about absinthe for a couple years which brings me to present day I recently started reading and doing a little study time on Absinthe and decided for my first purchase I'd go with 2 bottles of Un Emile 68. I actually enjoyed, which as I remember was not my reaction to Hill's, although I'm drinking it 1:4 with the slotted spoon and sugar cube method now. Sorry bout the life story to the question,

I need some advice on what other brands I should try as I would like to have something to compare to the only one I've tried (and remembered sp_ike.gif )

--------------------