Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Research on Absinthe and its components
The Fée Verte Absinthe Forum - The Oldest, Largest, Most Authoritative Absinthe Forum. > Absinthe & Absinthiana > Dr Magnan's Lab
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
turangalila
It seems like it might be good to centralize the links to research. I'll start:

Frohlich & Shibamoto 1990. Stability of Pulegone and Thujone in Ethanolic Solution. J. Agric. Food Chem, 38, 2057-2060.

I have no background in chemistry, but this adresses Dr. O's question about the decomposition of thujone. It appears that in either 30% or 100% ethanol solutions at pH 2.5 or 6.5 it doesn't break down unless exposed to light, in which case it very rapidly transforms into "only two products (Figure 6). They were identified as the isomeric 5-methylene-6-methylhept-2-enepsh,o tochemical products described earlier by Eastman et al. (1963)" (2058)

However, I can't figure out how long exactly they tested storing it in the dark at 20 c. It seems it was at least seven months.

Nonetheless, this is an example of how the decomposition of thujone can be tracked.
turangalila
Lachenmeiera, Dirk W., J. Emmertb, T. Kuballaa and G. Sartorb 2005. Thujone - Cause of absinthism? Forensic Science International, In Press, Corrected Proof.

(This is available online for $30 from Pubmed if anyone wants to foot the bill. The corresponding author's email address is lachenmeier@web.de. Note that this article is brand new.)

Here's the abstract:

Thujone—Cause of absinthism?

Abstract