Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Fountain or Perfume Dispenser?
The Fée Verte Absinthe Forum - The Oldest, Largest, Most Authoritative Absinthe Forum. > Absinthe & Absinthiana > Absinthiana & Collectibles
jonathan_carfax
Late night 2am impulse purchase - but no money has changed hands.

Nor will it if it is a dud.

My first lesson in fountain buying.

Oxy?
Adam-V
I'm no expert on such things and I'm sure I'll be corrected if I'm wrong but it looks to me like it isn't tall enough to fit a glass under the spigot. I would think that in order to be deemed to be a true absinthe fountain, this ability would be a prerequisite.

Cheers,
Adam-V
jonathan_carfax
QUOTE(Adam-V @ Jan 6 2008, 08:00 PM) *

I'm no expert on such things and I'm sure I'll be corrected if I'm wrong but it looks to me like it isn't tall enough to fit a glass under the spigot.

Thats what I thought in the clearer light of morning….I think I have fair grounds to say no under ebay rules.

Is it a Pastis fountain?

I know there are references in the archives but the graphics have long gone from ebay view for comparison.
hartsmar
Looks an awful lot like a perfume dispenser.
At a height of 35cm you'll need a lot of imagination to fit a standing 16 cm absinthe glass under that spigot...

jonathan_carfax
And I think you're right - it is a perfume dispenser, albiet a rather attractive one.

Thanks for affirming my suspicions.
Oxygenee
Rule #1: Always consult the Virtual Absinthe Museum first.
http://www.oxygenee.com/absinthe-antique/fakes.html
Donnie Darko