Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Absinthe: A Novelty
The Fée Verte Absinthe Forum - The Oldest, Largest, Most Authoritative Absinthe Forum. > Absinthe & Absinthiana > The Absinthe Library
Miiru
Please allow me to begin by stating that I have no direct experience with absinthe whatsoever. That damning bit of information out of the way and as many tomatoes ducked as humanly possible, I would like to solicit the assistance of the willing here.

I am in the process of getting an idea for a novel out of my head and onto paper where it belongs. The setting will be quite heavily Victorian (and is consuming quite a bit of research time on its own), and several of the central characters have ganged up on me and demanded that absinthe play a major role.

So I find myself devoting an almost obsessive amount of time to learning everything possible about a drink that grows, as I progress, ever more fascinating. I have found this site in particular to be marvellously helpful, and hope that its denizens can be equally so, as I am not exactly a font of absinthine wisdom. Er, quite obviously so.

Which brings me to the point of my question. There is quite a bit of literature available about absinthe itself: how it is made, how it should taste, what brands are better or worse than others; the impressive list of those who made it a habit in its heyday; on and on and on it goes, most overwhelmingly.

But I cannot find (or have not looked enough for) the sort of detailed information I require as to what sort of establishment served the drink as a matter of course. I feel it would almost be sinful to assume that it was simply a normal sort of pub or bar that sheltered the likes of Picasso and van Gogh... but at the same time, I don't wish to assume otherwise, as I've no certainty to the contrary.