Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hello from a Denver Distiller
The Fée Verte Absinthe Forum - The Oldest, Largest, Most Authoritative Absinthe Forum. > General > The Entrance Hall
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Leopold
Hello,

I am a distiller in Denver, Colorado, having just moved from Ann Arbor, Michigan. I've been brewing for 13 years, and distilling for 7. We've been making Absinthe for a bit. I started research in earnest when the word around the campfire was that it would be legal soon. My mom has a soft spot for anise spirits, and absinthe in particular, so what better reason to distill it, right?

I felt like I had to say hello, and give some sincere thanks to the FeeVerte for helping me with some aspects of Absinthe production. As an example, the thread on "how does your absinthe garden grown" was particularly interesting in discussing varieties of specific plants. The photos were super.

Other discussions on chop.gif…that quickly grew into all-out battles…were great. I've enjoyed posts and reviews by Donnie Darko, Hartsmar, Oxygenee, and countless others that have helped me to understand what you all find appealing or not appealing in various absinthes. I could go on and on, but really, I just need to send my thanks to all of you. It wouldn't be right to NOT thank you.

As to my absinthe, it's made with brandy, and distilled at high proof in a potstill with plates and a dephlegmator. I add Star Anise, Iceberg Lett… (kidding, kidding)……

I add Anise, Fennel, Veronica, G. Wormwood, Coriander to the still, and R. Wormwood, Hyssop, and Melissa for coloring. I rest it in fairly neutral used wine barrels before release. In short, I tried to PTFA, as requested by the good people of Fee Verte.

I hope you all like it, but I've got zero control over that, obviously.

In the end, my Mom loves it, and hey, what else could a distiller ask?