Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: absinthe curious
The Fée Verte Absinthe Forum - The Oldest, Largest, Most Authoritative Absinthe Forum. > General > The Entrance Hall
eclecticbuzzard
Hi,

I'm a complete newbie to absinthe, never tasted it, but I've been reading a lot about it on the internet for the past two weeks. I'm a 47 year old (48 next month) American man living in the southeastern part of Florida - married with a family of my own. I earn my living by working in the IT dept. for a retail chain . My true passion in my life outside of work and family is photography. And it is through an idea for a self portrait that I was drawn to absinthe. I am working on a project to shoot a sort of "period piece" studio portrait of me dressed in Victorian era clothing, sitting in a Parisian absinthe bar.

I also hope to shoot some still life shots of just a glass of absinthe next to a decanter of ice water and a bowl of sugar cubes. And maybe, if I can find a proper model and some wings, I'll try a shot of a green fairy.

Anyway, I've checked the local liquor stores and found that all they sell is Pernod Pastis and Absente/Absinthe Refined. I've read enough to know that these are faux absinthes at best. I'm about 85% sure my first bottles of real absinthe will be Ted Breaux's Nouvelle Orleans and PF 1901. First on my agenda though, is to buy some pontalier glasses, spoons, and a top hat.

I will continue to post comments and questions as I work on this project.

P.S. The avatar that I've chosen was only meant to look like a green fairy, and it is not an indication of my character.

Thanks for being here,
John
Provenance
Instead of spending a large sum on an oddly-flavored absinthe (or buying the fake-sinths you are wisely avoiding), why not first try a bottle of arak and see if you even like anise spirits?
eclecticbuzzard