Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Greetings from a newcomer to absinthe and to this forum.
The Fée Verte Absinthe Forum - The Oldest, Largest, Most Authoritative Absinthe Forum. > General > The Entrance Hall
Pages: 1, 2
NataliaLaLoca
Hello all,

I’m an artist based in Michigan and a newcomer to absinthe. After a lifetime of curiosity, I’ve finally taken the plunge and ordered a bottle of Duplais Balance, based on the positive reviews in the Absinthe Buyer's Guide. (My first choice was Duplais Verte, but absinthe.de prevented me from ordering it, saying it couldn’t be shipped to the U.S. because it was over 70% alcohol.)

The bottle arrived in three days flat, and I had my first glass the other day. I loved everything about it, from the aroma that wafted from the bottle as I popped the cork to the louching ritual to the very last sip. I’m already wondering what to try next.

I'm very pleased to have found this forum and look forward to further exploration of this exquisite beverage.

Best wishes,

Nathalie.
Nymphadora
Welcome
Kirk
Welcome to the fray.
Absomphe
Greetings.
Donnie Darko
Greetings and salutations. I like the avatar.

You're coming into the absinthe world at just the right time, where there is actually decent commercial offerings, and promising domestically made stuff on the horizon. A lot of us had to slog through a lot of dreck to get to this point.
Tibro
Welcome. Tell us more about your artistic pursuits. Should I infer from the avatar that you're a painter?
Marc
Welcome Nathalie.
Glad you read the buyer's guide and liked the green fairy at first sip, and it's only the beginning, a lot of different aromas and flavors are waiting for you, absinthes are so different and complex from one to another.
Next you could try a good Bleue (Clandestine for example) and another green not produced by Matter just to see the differences in flavors.
absinthist
Welcome and have fun while exploring the neverending world of the green muse.
Conte d'Ugenta