Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Looking for suggestions
The Fée Verte Absinthe Forum - The Oldest, Largest, Most Authoritative Absinthe Forum. > Absinthe & Absinthiana > Absinthe Brands Discussion
Mozaki
I had an absinthe kick (as I call it) a few years back and tried 5 brands. Forgive me if I cant remember a couple of names. Also if I don't use the terms you are used to. I'm not a pro wink.gif

I read that the one I liked has changed it's formula. I don't know that it was highly regarded before that either, but I liked it.

-Logan Fils - Liked this enough to get it three times. Not as tasty as a couple of others, but still good and gave me consistantly great experiance. Looked pretty in the glass too.
-Un Emile Pernot -Liked the flavor alot! Decent absinthe experiance and looked nice. Would buy again.
-Vert d'Absinthe - Tasted nice. But it just didnt really do much for me otherwise.
I can't remeber the other 2, but they were highly rated. I think one was a Kubler? The one that I think was kubler tasted very alcohol-y and not strong enough on the anise?

What I am looking for is a good quality brand. I want it to look nice when it is prepared and have a good anise flavor. I don't see this discussed much, but I have found that my favorite absinthes gave me a little special warm fuzzy feeling wink.gif …and that is important too!

So If I am going to try one absinthe to get back into it… what should it be? :)
smiley
Read the reviews on the Buyer's Guide. They're pretty accurate on the whole, and they'll give you an idea of what to expect. Try one of the Matter absinthes to start. The duplais verte and balance are great. Clandestine La Bleue should be your next try. At least thats how it went for me, and I enjoyed the progression. Or if you really like the anise, try a spanish absenta, they're usually heavier in that department, but they lack the clarity of a distilled absinthe.

On another note, absinthe is all about the wormwood, it'll grow on you.