Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hello from Central Pennsylvania
The Fée Verte Absinthe Forum - The Oldest, Largest, Most Authoritative Absinthe Forum. > General > The Entrance Hall
SocratesGoneMad
Disclaimer: Lots of words.
Hello to everyone.
I'm a computer science/multimedia teacher at a preK-12 independent school in Central Pa., where I also perform typical IT/IS and communications duties.

My Absinthe beginnings are somewhat embarrassing. It all began when I was about 17, when Nine Inch Nails "The Perfect Drug" released and the video appeared on television. If you haven't seen the video, Trent is seen pouring a glass for himself, no fire, very little water, one cube of sugar. I was a fan of the band, and pretty much thought everything in the the video was awesome.

I didn't do or see anything else relating to Absinthe until I was 21.

When I turned 21, I searched Absinthe online and found a distributor who had no problem sending to the US. I was psyched. I ordered two bottles and got a free Absinthe pipe. Kick ass, right? As soon as it arrived I poured a glass according to the instructions, no fire by the way, and drank up. Holy shit was it horrid. I thought I was drinking licorice flavoured Yak piss. As it turns out, I was. Some Czech brand called "Sebor."

Considering the cost, the marketing, and the fact that such famous people as Marilyn Manson and Johnny Depp were drinking this brand, I figured I simply didn't have a taste for Absinthe, and I set the bottles aside, as they were at least kind of pretty. I didn't plan to bother with Absinthe again.