Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tell me what you think…
The Fée Verte Absinthe Forum - The Oldest, Largest, Most Authoritative Absinthe Forum. > General > The Entrance Hall
Alexia
Hello again,

I'm not going to present myself this time, but something about me…

I just finished translating a website about absinthe - some of you may have already heard about RueVerte… - and I would like to know what you think about it…
I'm not an absinthe expert, neither do I speak perfect English, that's why I need to have opinions so that I can correct whatever needs to be corrected….

Thanks for your help! =)
Alexia
Shabba53
Not a complaint about the translation, but the 'helper' was not very helpful. For a connoisseur who likes measured bitterness, verte, and doesn't care about alcohol content it only suggested Segarra, Ike 68 and Vdf. That's a pretty skimpy recommendation list.

Also, one thing about the 'color of your absinthe' question: I'd recommend 'clear' instead of 'white' unless you're talking about post-louche color.
Wild Bill Turkey
Unless the Bugnon distillery is going out of business, you probably want to say the Opaline is their "latest" absinthe, not their "last".
Provenance
QUOTE(Alexia @ Mar 3 2009, 10:13 AM) *

Hello again,I just finished translating a website about absinthe

That's not a website about absinthe, it's a website selling absinthe. Your presentation of the site sounds like a shill. Why should anyone have "already heard" about another site selling Hapsburg and Hills?
sixela
"Last absinthe" conveys a different meaning (as in "la dernière cigarette") than "latest absinthe".

"To discover" is a stinted translation for "à découvrir". Just use the imperative "discover".

Here are 9 quality absinthes, with a high alcohol percentage, just like the traditional absinthes you found during the Belle Époque.