Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New to forum
The Fée Verte Absinthe Forum - The Oldest, Largest, Most Authoritative Absinthe Forum. > General > The Entrance Hall
Still-Life
It is amazing what is out here on the internet. I have been a part of many forums tied to related subjects, so it is a treat to join this one.

I have been a brewer since 1980. I co-founded a micro and served as head-brewer for a decade. I have been running stills for many years, having received a license back in 1995.

I have made absinthe on occasions, but not for a few years. I am waiting for the harvest season to go at it again with quality fresh ingredients. In the mean time I have been making single grain rye and corn whiskey. I am getting ready to run a new gin recipe that utilizes some native plants. I will post the botanical list and amounts so you can see what you think and pass thoughts along.

3 GALLONS
Juniper 180 GRAMS 6.3 OUNCES

Coriander 90 GRAMS 3.2 OUNCES

Angelica Root 15 GRAMS .5 OUNCE
Cassia
Indigo Broom Root
Almond
Grains of Paradise
Cubeb Berries
Red Chile Pod

Lime Peel 1.5 GRAMS
Ginger
Orris Root
Yarrow Root
Lavender
Rose Pedal
Chamomile
Cilantro
Sage
Indigo Broom Stem
Jaded Prole
Welcome. Realize that some of us have a hard time with very small print and go for the standard size. You say you are a licensed distiller, do you run a commercial distillery?
Jaded Prole
As for the Gin, that is a long list of ingredients! Too many in my opinion.
Still-Life
QUOTE(Jaded Prole @ May 26 2010, 01:33 PM) *

As for the Gin, that is a long list of ingredients! Too many in my opinion.

As for the print, I did a cut and paste and then couldn't get it back. I will watch it.
I am no longer a professional, but I still play one in the movies!
I understand the sentiment about the lengthy recipe and have been going back and forth on it myself. My standard is about half that list, with 10 botanicals.

Another variation is:

Juniper
Coriander
Angelica Root
Indigo Broom Root