Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Something a bit askew with Ike
The Fée Verte Absinthe Forum - The Oldest, Largest, Most Authoritative Absinthe Forum. > Absinthe & Absinthiana > General Absinthe Discussion
Poe
I've been drinking Eichelberger (68 Limitee) on and off for a couple of years and recently it's been losing it's appeal to me. I'm not sure if it's because I've over time developed a better tastebudometer or whether there has been a change in the recipe or production but it something seems amiss.

It always starts off well, nice and tasty with a thick louche but over the span of two or three glasses it seems to become undrinkable with an after taste that is just too much to bear.

Someone over at some other place mentioned a waxy after taste and I suppose that's an accurate description but I'd add also a heavy taste to that as well.

Has anyone tasted Eich lately and if so any insight or thoughts on this?
Absomphe
I've always thought Ike's wormwood imparts an oddly waxy tasting finish.
sbmac
I was a big fan of it, but have recently found it has a bit too much perfume for me.
Damned learning curves.

The Standard Deviant
Poe, you can call the distillery and ask : )
Tibro
A reasonable suggestion from a middleman, that. The Wilds are fine, friendly folk. And, besides, they have a lot of other quite quaffable products.
Provenance
Isn't Eichelberger that stuff that tasted like insecticide?
Tibro
You mean as in tansy?
Green Baron
Lemon Bomb.

I sampled the Eich 80 Brut Blanche (which I believe is just the unproofed, uncolored base of 68 Limitee) and found it quite enjoyable, with the big citrus, but I don't recall any of the waxiness I too experienced in the 68. Wonder if the higher proof made an impact or the waxiness comes from a coloring herb instead? But then it's possible I was too buzzed notice at the time.